Go Back   GTAGaming Forums > Grand Theft Auto Mods > Grand Theft Auto IV Mods
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-22-2012   #1
wilchatron
Newbie Member

wilchatron is an unknown quantity at this point
Red face ABSOLUTE BEGINNER - need simple guide to mod

I bought GTA4 on disc. I want to mod it but i don't know how; i've already had to reinstall it twice.

If anyone could please clearly and simply tell me cos i know its really pretty easy OR direct me to a really simple guide for-

1. How to make the game moddable

2. Which mod installer to use

3. How to install vehicle mods (if not obvious with the mod installer)

I've literally searched for hours for a mod guide that i understood but i couldnt find one anywhere

I tried making ALL the files in the gta4 folder non read-only but the game wouldn't open. I'll have to reinstall it for the third time and follow someone's instructions from the start.

My system specs are:
Windows 7 service pack 1
Intel i5 2430M processor @ 2.40ghz
3GB RAM (i know, pretty low but i dont mind crappy graphics :p)
1.3 GB Intel HD video card < [is this 'vram'?]
Dunno about the sound

THANKS SO MUCH IF ANYONE CAN HELP ME!! (ps i love this site there are some awesome mods)
wilchatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012   #2
Killerfist
Arms Dealer
Addicted Member

Killerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to beholdKillerfist is a splendid one to behold
To answer your first question, making your game moddable is no longer necessary in the newer patches so I'd suggest you first update to either 1.0.4.0. or 1.0.7.0(latest)