Go Back   GTAGaming Forums > Grand Theft Auto > Grand Theft Auto IV
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2009   #1
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
Fatal Error Help!

Whenever I launch GTAIV it says this: GTA IV FATAL ERROR: RMN40, what does this mean???
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009   #2
Xan
█▄▄█▄▄█ █▬█ █
 
Xan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 4,587
Xan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond repute
Try this;

1. Go into the GTA 4 folder and locate "LaunchGTAIV"
2. Right click and select "Properties"
3. Select the "Compatibility" tab
4. Under "Compatibility mode", click the box to check off "Run this program in compatibility mode for:"
5. Drop down the menu and select "Windows 2000"
__________________
Xan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #3
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
That fixes the error thing, but now after the window is gone, another type of error thing came up, this time it's one of those Error Reports where you have to either send or don't send the error report to Microsoft. Is this because of my hardware setup (grafics card, ect.)?
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #4
sasagd
Most inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cali, Colombia
Posts: 201
sasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enough
What are your computer specs????
Also have you installed any of the patches??


Edit: I also found this:
GTA 4 : FATAL ERROR RMN40
RMN40- Windows XP: Need to have Service Pack 3 or higher to proceed
__________________

English is not my native language, so please, forgive any mistakes.
I'm Back!! (kinda)

Last edited by sasagd; 02-23-2009 at 06:18 PM..
sasagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #5
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
Im now getting this: GTA IV FATAL ERROR DD3D50, and wouldn't a Windows XP Professional work!??????????
Edit: I don't have any patches installed just got the other day.
Edit 2: No im not playing on a work computer, the laptop I bought had Windows XP Professional already installed.

Last edited by Shadow Viper; 02-23-2009 at 06:40 PM..
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #6
sasagd
Most inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cali, Colombia
Posts: 201
sasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enough
The game runs fine with win xp pro, I have the same OS, the first problem said that your winxp didn't have the service pack 3 installed, but the new one (DD3D50) says this:
DD3D50- D3D Error - DirectX 9 video card required
Maybe your video card is below the minimum requeriments or you have to update your direct x 9.
Maybe you could try the latest patch for the game, but I would also like that you post your computer specs.
__________________

English is not my native language, so please, forgive any mistakes.
I'm Back!! (kinda)
sasagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #7
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
I've never checked my computer specs before (never had to before), where would I find it?
__________________

The Arbiter of the Shadows, don't mess with the Viper!
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #8
sasagd
Most inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cali, Colombia
Posts: 201
sasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enough
Well I always use the next method:
go to start and click on run
type dxdiag
that should open a window with your system info, there you can see the processor and the amount of RAM you have, also select the tab called display and you should see the name of your video card.
You can also try this site :
http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest
Just open the site and select Grand theft auto 4 from the list, it should tell you how well the game should run on your pc.
__________________

English is not my native language, so please, forgive any mistakes.
I'm Back!! (kinda)

Last edited by sasagd; 02-23-2009 at 07:03 PM..
sasagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #9
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
NVIDIA GeForce4 420 Go (Toshiba) is my video card.
__________________

The Arbiter of the Shadows, don't mess with the Viper!
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #10
sasagd
Most inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cali, Colombia
Posts: 201
sasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enough
I don't think that card can run gta 4, I'm not an expert on video cards, but yours seems to be a 4 series, and it's rather old, mine is a 8 series and it can't run gta all that well, still, you should try the site http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest and see what the results are.
__________________

English is not my native language, so please, forgive any mistakes.
I'm Back!! (kinda)
sasagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #11
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
I tried, but it kept messing my internet up.

I will try to buy a new video card, should I go with the one on the box, the 256MB NVIDIA 7900/ or a 256MB ATI X1900?
__________________

The Arbiter of the Shadows, don't mess with the Viper!

Last edited by Shadow Viper; 02-23-2009 at 07:51 PM.. Reason: auto-merged double post
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #12
sasagd
Most inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cali, Colombia
Posts: 201
sasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enough
Well I don't know what laptop you have, I would try the latest patch for the game first, as for a video card I would go for a geforce series 8 or 9, but as I said, I'm not an expert on mobile cards, and buying video cards for laptops is not that easy....
I'm sorry I couldn't help you more.
You also must have a very good processor, at least with 2 cores, this game is very poorly optimized.
__________________

English is not my native language, so please, forgive any mistakes.
I'm Back!! (kinda)
sasagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #13
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
I have a Toshiba, and this is what it says for my processor: Mobile Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 - M CPU 2.00GHz
__________________

The Arbiter of the Shadows, don't mess with the Viper!
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #14
sasagd
Most inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cali, Colombia
Posts: 201
sasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enoughsasagd will become famous soon enough
I think the processor is a little slow too..., I'm not a hardware expert though, but in my opinion, it can't run GTA 4.
Wish I could help more man.
__________________

English is not my native language, so please, forgive any mistakes.
I'm Back!! (kinda)
sasagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #15
Shadow Viper
New name: Donnie_Viper
 
Shadow Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Shadow Viper is on a distinguished roadShadow Viper is on a distinguished road
Alright, I will try to soup up my hard drive and video card when I can.
__________________

The Arbiter of the Shadows, don't mess with the Viper!
Shadow Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.