Old 02-07-2009   #1
GtaMan93
INTJ
 
GtaMan93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami
Posts: 166
GtaMan93 is an unknown quantity at this point
what kinda fps will i get?

Specs
Intel Core i7 Extreme Processor 965 (4x 3.2GHz)
12gb ram
3x Nvidia Geforce GTX 285 1gb
Windows Vista Home SP1

Want to Run on all max at 1440x900
Any idea?
__________________
Signature removed, too large in filesize. Read the rules.
^
My favorite show
GtaMan93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #2
ZCAB
Whipping Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,041
ZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond repute
The only person I know who has vaguely similar (but worse) hardware got about 35-45 fps average. You'll get more, but not that much. Running the game at maximum is stupid anyway, because many settings hardly affect how the game actually looks (the shadows don't actually get much better between lower and higher settings, for example).

That said, did you need to get rid of a lot of cash in a short time or something? Everything about that system yells money waster. 12 GBs of RAM, a processor from the Extreme family of the latest CPU generation, TRIPLE SLI of an only recently released high-end card? What the hell do you need this stuff for? You could have easily saved over a thousand dollars on that and the performance difference would have been negligible.

Last edited by ZCAB; 02-07-2009 at 02:55 AM..
ZCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #3
Thundercracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,838
Thundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond repute
I sure hope you're using 64-bit or else that RAM is pointless.
Thundercracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #4
Yam Trigger
Urban Pleb
 
Yam Trigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Real Pussy City :)
Posts: 2,197
Yam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to behold
Someone who has those kind of specifications and doesn't even know what kind of performance they will receive shouldn't have those specs to begin with.
Yam Trigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #5
Thundercracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,838
Thundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond repute
That was just unnecessary.
Thundercracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #6
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by GtaMan93 View Post
Specs
Intel Core i7 Extreme Processor 965 (4x 3.2GHz)
12gb ram
3x Nvidia Geforce GTX 285 1gb
Windows Vista Home SP1

Want to Run on all max at 1440x900
Any idea?
er was this question even neccessary? lol it could max the game easily with specs like that :/

hell that will run games easily within about 4 or 5 years into the future........
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #7
GtaMan93
INTJ
 
GtaMan93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami
Posts: 166
GtaMan93 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZCAB View Post
The only person I know who has vaguely similar (but worse) hardware got about 35-45 fps average. You'll get more, but not that much. Running the game at maximum is stupid anyway, because many settings hardly affect how the game actually looks (the shadows don't actually get much better between lower and higher settings, for example).

That said, did you need to get rid of a lot of cash in a short time or something? Everything about that system yells money waster. 12 GBs of RAM, a processor from the Extreme family of the latest CPU generation, TRIPLE SLI of an only recently released high-end card? What the hell do you need this stuff for? You could have easily saved over a thousand dollars on that and the performance difference would have been negligible.
I got the computer because i wanted to get a computer that would last me a long long time.
__________________
Signature removed, too large in filesize. Read the rules.
^
My favorite show
GtaMan93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #8
Slim Trashman
Sanitation Division
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 12,224
Slim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant future
I don't think you need to worry about your frame rate here. What you should be worrying about is the possibility of death due to too much awesomeness...
__________________
Slim Trashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009   #9
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim Trashman View Post
I don't think you need to worry about your frame rate here. What you should be worrying about is the possibility of death due to too much awesomeness...
LOL well said
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009   #10
cokemonkey
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
cokemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
cokemonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
dude i get 20 fps on high and i got a
intel q6600 2.4ghz 1066mhz
nvidia geforce 9500gt 512mb ddr3
3gb corsair ddr2 667mhz
__________________
cokemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009   #11
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokemonkey View Post
dude i get 20 fps on high and i got a
intel q6600 2.4ghz 1066mhz
nvidia geforce 9500gt 512mb ddr3
3gb corsair ddr2 667mhz
You can get better if you upgrade your video card. The CPU and Ram is fine on that setup
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009   #12
cokemonkey
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
cokemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
cokemonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nite View Post
You can get better if you upgrade your video card. The CPU and Ram is fine on that setup
ye well i just spent over 400$ on upgrades a couple months ago so i wont be upgrading any time soon
__________________
cokemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009   #13
GtaMan93
INTJ
 
GtaMan93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami
Posts: 166
GtaMan93 is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm getting 85fps average and my least fps is 57.
__________________
Signature removed, too large in filesize. Read the rules.
^
My favorite show
GtaMan93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009   #14
lillb
Casual User
 
lillb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,713
lillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant futurelillb has a brilliant future
just wondering GtaMan how much did that setup cost you?
__________________
lillb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009   #15
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by GtaMan93 View Post
I'm getting 85fps average and my least fps is 57.
holy shit O_O nice framerate

Quote:
Originally Posted by lillb View Post
just wondering GtaMan how much did that setup cost you?
I bet he spent a good $3000+ on that setup, the i7 965 chip is alone is $1000, and 3 x GTX 285's together are about another $1000, and all the other hardware + monitor maybe the third $1000
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI

Last edited by Nite; 02-11-2009 at 01:20 AM..
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.