Old 10-13-2008   #1
ivantoar
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
ivantoar is an unknown quantity at this point
GTA 4 PC specs

Hi all. Do you know the minimum requirements of GTA 4 in PC? And will my PC run it?

Right now, I am using :

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
2 GB DDR2 PC-5300
GeForce 8600 GT 256 MB
320 GB SATA-II (240 GB space remaining)

I think that's all.
ivantoar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008   #2
Ash_735
 
Ash_735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 8,217
Ash_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond reputeAsh_735 has a reputation beyond repute
All seems well enough, at least be able to run on Medium close to High settings (if the rumoured specs posted a few weeks back are to be trusted).
Ash_735 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008   #3
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
the CPU and memory is more than good enough, but the 256MB 8600 GT maybe a bit of a concerm if you plan to run max detail at a high resolution.
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008   #4
De7erminist
http://7thzone.net
 
De7erminist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 590
De7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nite View Post
the CPU and memory is more than good enough, but the 256MB 8600 GT maybe a bit of a concerm if you plan to run max detail at a high resolution.
Well, I have that same card too. Guess I'll probably have to upgrade.
De7erminist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008   #5
Yam Trigger
Urban Pleb
 
Yam Trigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Real Pussy City :)
Posts: 2,197
Yam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to beholdYam Trigger is a splendid one to behold
Don't misunderstand what Nite said. The graphics card will run GTAIV very well, but if you want your settings to be maxed out a 8600 GT ain't going to do it.
__________________


Do you smell burning feathers?
Yam Trigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008   #6
Vortigern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 491
Vortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura about
I wonder why they still didn't release official specs.
Vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008   #7
WiM
All for one.
 
WiM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,142
WiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the roughWiM is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortigern View Post
I wonder why they still didn't release official specs.
Yes, that is odd. Now those who want to buy GTA IV don't know wether or not they should upgrade their pc.
__________________
WiM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008   #8
Thundercracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,838
Thundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond repute
Is it that hard to upgrade it when it comes out? You really should be waiting until then so you know whether or not it'd even be worth it.
Thundercracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008   #9
kalifa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 63
kalifa is on a distinguished roadkalifa is on a distinguished road
Well, I plan on watching video reviews of GTA4 pc to see if -whoever reviews the game- mentions what type of PC it requires.
Because requirements released by the developers are sometimes misleading.

My PC:

Windows XP Pro SP3
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ 2.4Ghz
2.0 GB RAM 533 Mhz
Sapphire Radeon x1950 PRO 256MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS (2.1 Analog Speaker Setup)
BioStar NF4U AM2G mobo
kalifa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008   #10
Vortigern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 491
Vortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura about
I'm not upgrading, I'd lose 2 years of full warranty. I'll just buy the game on release day and hope I can run it. Shouldn't be a problem, I'm running COD4 at 1240*786 (or whatever comes close) and specular map and everything turned on, it's pretty stable. It's not that I'm a very demanding graphics addict.
Vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008   #11
ivantoar
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
ivantoar is an unknown quantity at this point
Well, of course I know my graphic card capability. I never run new games on high setting.

I usually run on 1024x768. My VGA will run GTA 4, right? Yep, I wouldn't setting it at max. Maybe low - medium. Or combination settings if it is possible (like some other game has advanced graphic settings).
ivantoar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008   #12
Xan
█▄▄█▄▄█ █▬█ █
 
Xan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 4,587
Xan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond repute
lol Warranty. Build the rig yourself. You've got full control over what's going on, you can upgrade at any damn time you please. It's not rocket science.
__________________
Xan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008   #13
thenotsogoodtrickster
late on the feels
Loyal Member
 
thenotsogoodtrickster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 877
thenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xan View Post
lol Warranty. Build the rig yourself. You've got full control over what's going on, you can upgrade at any damn time you please. It's not rocket science.
It pretty much is when you've never upgraded a PC beforehand.
__________________
>tfw no signature
thenotsogoodtrickster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008   #14
Vortigern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 491
Vortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura about
Hey, I know how to stuff a new GPU in, in fact I've done it before. It just ain't worth it for me. I have full warranty, including free reparation at home. I don't see what's funny about that!
Vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008   #15
ivantoar
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
ivantoar is an unknown quantity at this point
Do you have a branded PC?

I upgraded my PC, no warranty removed or lost.
ivantoar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.