Go Back   GTAGaming Forums > Grand Theft Auto > Grand Theft Auto IV
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2008   #1
De7erminist
http://7thzone.net
 
De7erminist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 590
De7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura about
GTA IV specs more demanding than Crysis Warhead?

In case you don't know, the PC recommended specs for GTA IV was just revealed. But it's shocking. I have compared it to the specs for Crysis Warhead, and it seems GTA IV needs more power. How could it even be possible?

GTA IV Specs:
Operating System: Windows XP SP2
Processor: Dual core processor (Intel Pentium D or better)
RAM: 2GB
Hard Disk Drive: 18GB free hard disk space
Video Card: 512MB Direct3D 10 compatible video card or Direct3D 9 card compatible with Shader
Optical Drive: DVD-ROM dual-layer drive

Crysis Warhead Specs:
* CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz (3.2 GHz for Vista), Intel Core 2.0 GHz
(2.2 GHz for Vista), AMD Athlon 2800+ (3200+ for Vista) or better
* RAM: 1GB (1.5GB on Windows Vista)
* Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
(Radeon X800 Pro for Vista) or better
* VRAM: 256MB of Graphics Memory
* Storage: 15GB
* Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c Compatible
* ODD: DVD-ROM
* OS: Microsoft Windows XP with Service Pack 2 or Microsoft Vista
* DirectX: DX9.0c or DX10

And yea, that is the minimum specs for Crysis: WH, but even so, the original Crysis' recommended specs is actually less demanding than GTA IV's...

Crysis' Recommended Specs:
CPU: Core 2 Duo/Athlon X2 or better
RAM: 1.5GB
Video Card: NVIDIA 7800 Series, ATI Radeon 1800 Series or better
VRAM: 512MB of Graphics Memory
Storage: 12GB
Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c Compatible
ODD: DVD-ROM
OS: Microsoft Windows XP or Vista
DirectX: DX9.0c or DX10

What do you think? Discuss!
Besides, I don't think GTA IV for PC will have graphics that are like Crysis' photorealistic textures and effects, so what's the deal with the high recommended specs?

Last edited by De7erminist; 09-12-2008 at 11:12 PM..
De7erminist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #2
thenotsogoodtrickster
late on the feels
Loyal Member
 
thenotsogoodtrickster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 884
thenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to behold
I have a feeling the recommended specs might be a bit exaggerated, but to be fair, I would recommend specs like that anyways, y'know?
__________________
>tfw no signature
thenotsogoodtrickster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #3
Duke Lion
Registered User
 
Duke Lion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 472
Duke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really niceDuke Lion is just really nice
Those "recommended" specs for crysis will not get you near the high settings afaik.
Duke Lion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #4
Offended_by_Everything
Social Justice Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,043
Offended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond reputeOffended_by_Everything has a reputation beyond repute
Recommended specs for most games are a crock of shit. You'd think a developer would recommend having a PC that can actually run the game above medium settings. Then again, with the crappy way console-to-PC ports are optimised these days, they could only put the specs of a supposed future PC on the box if they wanted to tell you what you need for max settings.

Last edited by Offended_by_Everything; 09-13-2008 at 04:42 AM..
Offended_by_Everything is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #5
Xan
█▄▄█▄▄█ █▬█ █
 
Xan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 4,587
Xan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond repute
With those setting you couldn't run Crysis normally at a decent setting with a decent framerate, plus you can forget about AA.

So anything that GTAIV Will throw at me I'll still be a winner in the end.
__________________
Xan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #6
Vortigern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 491
Vortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura about
I hope a DX10 256MB GPU will do, I'm not going to lose my 2 year full warranty to put a new one in. My other parts will do fine: Dual 2 Core e4550 or something and 2GB of ram. I reckon if I can run CoD4 at a decent framerate, I should be able to play GTA IV as well.

Edit: it's an e6550, I ordered an e4550 but they gave me the other one without any extra charge

Last edited by Vortigern; 09-13-2008 at 06:21 AM..
Vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #7
thenotsogoodtrickster
late on the feels
Loyal Member
 
thenotsogoodtrickster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 884
thenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to beholdthenotsogoodtrickster is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortigern View Post
I hope a DX10 256MB GPU will do, I'm not going to lose my 2 year full warranty to put a new one in. My other parts will do fine: Dual 2 Core e4550 or something and 2GB of ram. I reckon if I can run CoD4 at a decent framerate, I should be able to play GTA IV as well.
Trust me, you should be able to, I can play Half Life 2 with a 256mb at full quality, including reflections, although with it being intergrated it's still a pile of shit :/ BSoD when I blew up a helicopter (whilst everything else was fine).

I'd still recommend a 512mb, should be able to run most things on full, and higher resolution. Kinda worth it because when the next generation of games are released, your 256mb (and mine) will be worth shit.
__________________
>tfw no signature
thenotsogoodtrickster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #8
Vortigern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 491
Vortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenotsogoodtrickster View Post
I'd still recommend a 512mb, should be able to run most things on full, and higher resolution. Kinda worth it because when the next generation of games are released, your 256mb (and mine) will be worth shit.
As long as I can use my 256MB card for GTA IV, CoD:WaW and Far Cry 2, it's no problem to postpone an upgrade until my warranty expires in a year and a half. I don't really care about resolution, I play CoD4 at 800*600, but everything else maxed out, it runs great and it looks good enough for me. But thanks for the advice!
Vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #9
.:Mouldy Punk:.
 
.:Mouldy Punk:.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Behind you
Posts: 4,602
.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of.:Mouldy Punk:. has much to be proud of
I'd take these specs with a pinch of salt. DX 10 card on an XP system...yeah...either R* didn't think that through, or these specs are pure speculation and GFW didn't think it through.

I'm looking out for the minimum specs anyhoo. No way my old graphics card will be able to cope with the recommended specs.
__________________


Hosted on ImgBin.Org | Happy Easter...ish
.:Mouldy Punk:. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #10
notuptome2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 105
notuptome2004 will become famous soon enoughnotuptome2004 will become famous soon enoughnotuptome2004 will become famous soon enoughnotuptome2004 will become famous soon enoughnotuptome2004 will become famous soon enoughnotuptome2004 will become famous soon enough
well from what i take it more on the CPU part is that it wants a Pentium D meaning Pentium 4 based Dual core as the specs and we all know a low end core 2 duo and or AMD X2 outperforms the higher clocked P4 dual cores so i think it is ok.
notuptome2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #11
De7erminist
http://7thzone.net
 
De7erminist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 590
De7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenotsogoodtrickster View Post
Trust me, you should be able to, I can play Half Life 2 with a 256mb at full quality, including reflections, although with it being intergrated it's still a pile of shit :/ BSoD when I blew up a helicopter (whilst everything else was fine).

I'd still recommend a 512mb, should be able to run most things on full, and higher resolution. Kinda worth it because when the next generation of games are released, your 256mb (and mine) will be worth shit.
Well, I'm personally stuck with my GeForce 8600GT, a 256MB video card. Well, I knew I should've gone for the 8800GTX, but they were out of stock and expensive at the time. Well, may be I can get myself a GeForce 9600GT for about 150USD, which is worth it...

If the recommended specs mean that I have to have such a PC to run GTA IV at max, then I guess I'll have to uprade. I want to play it at max.

Now, R* is making difficult for us GTA fans.... we need to find the cash for DLC, Chinatown Wars, and a PC upgrade + the PC version.... argh.
De7erminist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008   #12
John JJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,180
John JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura aboutJohn JJ has a spectacular aura about
Looks like I will max it out no prob .
__________________
John JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008   #13
Vortigern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 491
Vortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by }{oT~dEv1L 666 View Post
Now, R* is making difficult for us GTA fans.... we need to find the cash for DLC, Chinatown Wars, and a PC upgrade + the PC version.... argh.
Rockstar didn't tell you to upgrade your PC, if you want everything maxed out, that's your choice.
Vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008   #14
kalifa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 63
kalifa is on a distinguished roadkalifa is on a distinguished road
Still, I would like to see the "official" requirements on GTA4's site, instead of the GFW site.
kalifa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM.