Old 05-02-2008   #1
sadem0gamer
The Ultimate GTA 4 player
Newbie Member
 
sadem0gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In My Hotel Condo Safehouse In Algonquin
Posts: 23
sadem0gamer can only hope to improve
Multiplayer problems

alot of times when i try to join or host a multiplayer match is say "one or more players connections have been lost returning to single player" or something like that so can anybody help me with this or has this happened to anyone else
sadem0gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008   #2
GrungeRockCity
Outshined
 
GrungeRockCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 125
GrungeRockCity is on a distinguished roadGrungeRockCity is on a distinguished roadGrungeRockCity is on a distinguished roadGrungeRockCity is on a distinguished roadGrungeRockCity is on a distinguished road
I got it twice tonight. You just gotta ride with it. When it kicks you, if it lets you, just go back into it. At least it's a step up from the whole "can not connect because our servers are taking a shit" thing..
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/CTMPromotions

Official PSN ID: GrungeRevival18
GrungeRockCity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008   #3
Neil
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,610
Neil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud of
I think it really is a little lazy of them not to implement a better way of starting another multiplayer match than throwing the player back to the SP game and through a long load time.
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008   #4
Sheep Shagger
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 44
Sheep Shagger is on a distinguished roadSheep Shagger is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil View Post
I think it really is a little lazy of them not to implement a better way of starting another multiplayer match than throwing the player back to the SP game and through a long load time.
Yeah, I'm surprised they missed that after addressing so many other issues most MP games have. It's not a deal breaker, but it would be nice to be able to avoid all the unecessary load times.
__________________
Scottish Stuff: www.kilts.biz
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008   #5
kingcars
Registered User
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 81
kingcars is an unknown quantity at this point
Yeah I got the same error about 10 times in a row last night. Then I finally got into a game and luckily it was in party mode so we just played some Cops n Crooks and Free Roam for a few hours. Some of the most fun I've ever had in MP. Can't wait for them to fix the connection issues.
kingcars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008   #6
SBTx
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
SBTx is an unknown quantity at this point
My friends and I are having trouble with this, especially when we have a party bigger than just two people. Definitely needs to be looked into for a fix.
SBTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008   #7
keshman87
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
keshman87 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil View Post
I think it really is a little lazy of them not to implement a better way of starting another multiplayer match than throwing the player back to the SP game and through a long load time.
tell me about it, it takes so long when your kicked to get back into another game, and half the time its in a game with 1 other person or something

they really need a lobby type system. i just wana see which server im joining!!!

i mean i thought party mode would take care of that, but with party you can only be invited or start your own game....
keshman87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008   #8
Sheep Shagger
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 44
Sheep Shagger is on a distinguished roadSheep Shagger is on a distinguished road
There was 6 of us in a party last night and we found one person always got left behind when we jumped into a game. It was annoying, but since there was 6 of us we just went back to private matches together. It would have been nice to rank up though, we were playing really well last night.
__________________
Scottish Stuff: www.kilts.biz
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008   #9
.LiLe.
Buggati Boy
 
.LiLe.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saint Louis-STL
Posts: 2,034
.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of.LiLe. has much to be proud of
Damn this happens alot to the PS3 users. Mine multiplayer has worked 100% perfect since I've had my GTA(xbox360).
__________________
.LiLe. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008   #10
BiggerThanJesus
Amazing
Newbie Member
 
BiggerThanJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Posts: 33
BiggerThanJesus is an unknown quantity at this point
Yeah I get this too, PS3 as well unsuprisingly.

Know it aint me 'cos I've had 0 problems online with other games. Seems like we're getting shafted for the timebeing boyos.
__________________
Cock.
BiggerThanJesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008   #11
SANDYBASTRD
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
SANDYBASTRD is an unknown quantity at this point
BYPASS UR ROUTERS AND PLUG UR PS3 DIRECTLY TO THE MODEM SHOULD HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!
SANDYBASTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008   #12
picklemonkey
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
picklemonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
"Gaming Mode" on my D-Link router (DI-614+) needed to be enabled. Apparently this is the same as selecting between "Full Cone NAT" instead of "Symmetric NAT" (see here http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r194...mend-disabling ). I get the connection could not be established errors only when I have Gaming Mode turned off (or am in Symmetric NAT Mode). It sounds like many D-Link routers have this feature, and it's turned off by default on all of them. I'm not sure what it would be called on any others but it's probably safe to assume it exists in some form or another. Especially if the game works directly plugged in to your modem, but not through your router.


Discard Ping from WAN side - Seems to work either way. I noticed a couple of game lock-ups after enabling this, where I got no error message but instead only saw "Starting game" until I reboot my playstation. Only happened twice during all of testing so I don't think it has any impact, but it couldn't hurt to just leave it turned off so pings get replied to.


Static IP in DMZ - Seems to work ok outside of the DMZ with the below ports forwarded to static IP


Incoming PSN-required ports forwarded directly to Playstation's static IP (virtual server):
TCP 80 - worked with port forwarding on and off (with DMZ turned off and Gaming Mode ON)
TCP 443 - worked with port forwarding on and off (with DMZ turned off and Gaming Mode ON)
TCP 5223 - worked with port forwarding on and off (with DMZ turned off and Gaming Mode ON)
UDP 3478 - worked with port forwarding on and off (with DMZ turned off and Gaming Mode ON)
UDP 3479 - worked with port forwarding on and off (with DMZ turned off and Gaming Mode ON)
UDP 3658 - worked with port forwarding on and off (with DMZ turned off and Gaming Mode ON)
UDP 10070-10080, 50100 (Gran Turismo 5 ports) - worked with port forwarding on and off (with DMZ turned off and Gaming Mode ON)



Also after finding that Gaming Mode made things start working, I did some searching and found this which shows it helped other people too.
http://boardsus.playstation.com/play...sage.id=256395


I'd recommend the static IP, the DMZ, the Gaming Mode ON (aka Full Cone NAT enabled), and the WAN ping replies turned on. I hope this helps anybody!
picklemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 PM.