Old 04-24-2009   #1
UKeTommyV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
UKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enough
GTA4: i think my PC is underperforming

hi guys I hope someone can help me out with this. I'm running gta4 at a good frame rate but when i do a benchmark some of the components don't seem to be running at maximum or near that. Why is that? here is my benchmark result:


Statistics
Average FPS: 55.3
Duration: 37.18 sec
CPU Usage: 66%
System memory usage: 65%
Video memory usage: 86%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1440x900 (59 Hz)
Texture Quality: High
Render Quality: Highest
View Distance: 60
Detail Distance: 40

Hardware
Microsoft® Windows XP 64bit
Service Pack 2
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Video Driver version: 180.44
Audio Adapter: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4GHz

How come I don't see my CPU near 90%?. Also, when i go to the graphics tab it seems that gta4 only has 1gb of ram available for running out of my 4Gbs total. Anyone knows whats going on?

thanks in advance.
UKeTommyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #2
Slim Trashman
Sanitation Division
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 12,224
Slim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant futureSlim Trashman has a brilliant future
Holy shit man. If I were you I totally wouldn't be complaining!

Not really sure of all the tech stuff, though.
__________________
Slim Trashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #3
ZCAB
Whipping Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,041
ZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond repute
Obviously, the reason your PC components aren't running at full power is because they don't need to.
ZCAB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #4
PS3_dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 83
PS3_dude will become famous soon enoughPS3_dude will become famous soon enoughPS3_dude will become famous soon enoughPS3_dude will become famous soon enoughPS3_dude will become famous soon enoughPS3_dude will become famous soon enough
I agree with 2CAB. You r PC is soo powerful that they easily run the game. No need to overload them.You should be happy. Not many people can play GTA 4 on PC like you do.
PS3_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #5
Thundercracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,838
Thundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond reputeThundercracker has a reputation beyond repute
32-bit apps are limited to 1GB of RAM.
Thundercracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #6
UKeTommyV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
UKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enoughUKeTommyV will become famous soon enough
Oh Ok a guess its ok. thanks guys for the fast response. i'm greatfull im able to play gta at these settings and frame rate. I just wondered why it wouldnt go higher up specially the cpu. I just upgraded my video card which was giving me an awful frame rate of 16avg. I had 8600gt. Now how come I dont have most of the ram available? I did have most of my ram before the gpu upgrade. Any thoughts?

thanks gain
UKeTommyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 AM.