Go Back   GTAGaming Forums > Grand Theft Auto Mods > Grand Theft Auto IV Mods
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2009   #1
AnyDay
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
AnyDay is an unknown quantity at this point
.ASI files how to install?

I downloaded the Player Selector mod from GTAGarage.com, but the file is a .ASI...


how do i go about installing this mod or file?

Sorry for my ignorance i am new to all this....any well would be appreciated...
AnyDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009   #2
rappo
Professional Dumbass
 
rappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,986
rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.
1. Download this: http://www.gtagaming.com/downloads/gta-iv/tools/1976
2. Put dsound.dll into your root GTA IV folder (by default \Program Files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto IV)
3. Download the ASI mod
4. Put the .ASI file into your root GTA IV folder as well
__________________
rappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009   #3
AnyDay
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
AnyDay is an unknown quantity at this point
Thank you for your help Rappo, i will proceed as you instructed....






I put the .asi file and the sound.dll in the main directory, I started the game and nothing happen...am I doing something wrong?

Is there another program to launch the mod?

Last edited by AnyDay; 01-27-2009 at 06:03 PM..
AnyDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009   #4
ZomBuster
Uuuh nice site Rappo
Newbie Member
 
ZomBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
ZomBuster is an unknown quantity at this point
You need the latest patch installed
ZomBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009   #5
AnyDay
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
AnyDay is an unknown quantity at this point
What do you mean? I have already installed it prior to anything...
AnyDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009   #6
ZomBuster
Uuuh nice site Rappo
Newbie Member
 
ZomBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
ZomBuster is an unknown quantity at this point
Oh sorry I think the player selector isn't updated for the patch yet, try one of rappo's mods, they should work
ZomBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009   #7
brawly
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
brawly is an unknown quantity at this point
hey guys i have the same problem.. i have the 2.0 patch installed and i already put the filelist magic pak in the correct folder but when i try to put the dsound.dll in the root folder the game wont load up it says GTA IV had crashed and cannot startup.. i think its because the GTA IV folder is under (read-only) but when i untick the read-only box the next time i open it its ticked again... im a noob at modding and any help would be appreacitated.
brawly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009   #8
Zebzyn
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Zebzyn is on a distinguished roadZebzyn is on a distinguished roadZebzyn is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by brawly View Post
hey guys i have the same problem.. i have the 2.0 patch installed and i already put the filelist magic pak in the correct folder but when i try to put the dsound.dll in the root folder the game wont load up it says GTA IV had crashed and cannot startup.. i think its because the GTA IV folder is under (read-only) but when i untick the read-only box the next time i open it its ticked again... im a noob at modding and any help would be appreacitated.
Yes I have the same problem, please help
Zebzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009   #9
rappo
Professional Dumbass
 
rappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,986
rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.
You have to be running GTA IV.exe as an administrator.
rappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009   #10
Zebzyn
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Zebzyn is on a distinguished roadZebzyn is on a distinguished roadZebzyn is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rappo View Post
You have to be running GTA IV.exe as an administrator.
Now it's working, thanks
The only thing right now is to learn how to change characters in Player Selector, your the man Rappo
Zebzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009   #11
rappo
Professional Dumbass
 
rappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,986
rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.
haha no problem, i actually heard that tip from somewhere else
as for the player selector, you having a problem with it? the keys should be in the readme, i think it uses the numpad
__________________
rappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009   #12
Zebzyn
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Zebzyn is on a distinguished roadZebzyn is on a distinguished roadZebzyn is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rappo View Post
haha no problem, i actually heard that tip from somewhere else
as for the player selector, you having a problem with it? the keys should be in the readme, i think it uses the numpad
It was just pressing some keys on the numpad, it works fine, but can you choose which character you want to be? Right now it seems that it only can be random peds everytime I push the button. It would be better if you can choose which one you will be.
Zebzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009   #13
rappo
Professional Dumbass
 
rappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,986
rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.
you press numpad + and numpad -
i'm pretty sure they go in a certain order. honestly ive never used the mod. i play GTA IV on a laptop and dont have a numpad
__________________
rappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #14
Tango_Man
aka TangoR34
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Tango_Man is on a distinguished roadTango_Man is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rappo View Post
You have to be running GTA IV.exe as an administrator.
I ticked that box but then a thing called SecuLancher: failed to start application[2000]
__________________
Tango_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009   #15
rappo
Professional Dumbass
 
rappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,986
rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.rappo is a God.
Sorry I don't know what to tell you, I don't use Vista. I just read about that trick online so passed on the information. i never had to do anything like that to make ASI mods work...
__________________
rappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 PM.