Old 12-03-2008   #1
Jaaks
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Jaaks is an unknown quantity at this point
Play = nothing....

Ok so I just purchased GTA IV for the PC which released today. For those who are getting frustrated with low framerates and all that... be happy you are even playing it... o_0

I've had the game now for about 12 hours and haven't even had the chance to see an intro.

Ok so here's my problem...


I've installed GTA IV following the instructions. I've installed Windows Live Games, Rockstar Games Social Club and created accounts for both. Now when I open and login to RGSC I am greeted by the play button. I know that after hitting the play button I am supposed to be greeted by another screen that I'm supposed to then use to authenticate my game, fine no problem... oh wait there is one... CUZ THAT SCREEN NEVER OPENS!!!

y'know... when you open an application you get that little hour glass by your mouse cursor and I got that... it then disappears and nothing ever happens... I also went into the Task Manager to see if any programs are running... and guess what... LaunchGTAIV_activation.exe is running... but I dont see anything on my screen....

WTF!!!

Soooo... if anyone else has had this issue or is also experiencing this issue lets talk... cuz I want to play this $60 coaster!


Ahhh and some things I've tried for those who might want to flame...

I have upgraded to Win XP SP3, installed AFTER SP3 was installed...
I've upgraded my graphics card rivers (tho I don't see a reason why it would affect this issue)
I've already contacted their Support center with no help coming from them... thus I figured I'd post here and hope someone knows what the fuck is going on.

anyways, Cheers...

Jaaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008   #2
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
I was just recently talking to someone that had the same problem on windows XP, he is on a dual boot system, and could only get it working on Vista so you might want to change to windows Vista if you want any chance of running it.
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008   #3
Jaaks
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Jaaks is an unknown quantity at this point
ahhh no way!

that sucks, cuz I hate Vista lol. Great... oh well I guess if that's the only way then I'll give it a try... least I can do I suppose... Thx for the tip
Jaaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008   #4
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
I hate Vista too, thats why I use windows server 2008 as a Vista alternative

Good luck to you
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008   #5
Zidane
 
Zidane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 6,320
Zidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond repute
Save important things, format, re-do your OS, then try. Otherwise you might have to upgrade to Vista.
__________________
I make noises for games.
Zidane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008   #6
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,893
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
read his first post again zidane

epic fail
__________________

i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333 | 4GB EVGA GTX 770 SC ACX | EVGA Z68 SLI
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008   #7
Zidane
 
Zidane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 6,320
Zidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond reputeZidane has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nite View Post
read his first post again zidane

epic fail
Hey, it's almost 5 AM. Shaddup :p
__________________
I make noises for games.
Zidane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008   #8
RapBoy
Registered User
 
RapBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Liberty City
Posts: 31
RapBoy will become famous soon enoughRapBoy will become famous soon enoughRapBoy will become famous soon enoughRapBoy will become famous soon enoughRapBoy will become famous soon enoughRapBoy will become famous soon enoughRapBoy will become famous soon enoughRapBoy will become famous soon enough
I'm getting a little confused. I was going to buy GTAIV PC but after reading all these posts... I don't know what to do.
btw, I hate vista too
RapBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM.