Go Back   GTAGaming Forums > Grand Theft Auto > Grand Theft Auto IV
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2008   #61
De7erminist
http://7thzone.net
 
De7erminist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 590
De7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura aboutDe7erminist has a spectacular aura about
I think... about anybody who can run Crysis at Lowest settings should be able to run IV. I hope that IV is scaleable, meaning you can run it on a laptop with integrated graphics on lowest settings, as well as run it in full graphical glory on a nice gaming rig. I hope R* does that.

Although I have a over-a-year-old gaming rig with Intel Core 2 Duo, GeForce 8600 GT and 2GB RAM that should be able to run it, I hope I can run it on my MacBook too, even if it means San Andreas style graphics. Most people just want to play it anyway, even if it means losing the cool graphics.
De7erminist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008   #62
Xan
█▄▄█▄▄█ █▬█ █
 
Xan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 4,587
Xan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalifa View Post
I haven't had any problems playing PC games myself. It's just stuff I've seen on the net. Some people talking about how their game would not start because it detected daemon tools or something like that.

Copy protection - well... StarForce for one. People hate that one. Luckily, none of the games I've bought use that particular protection so I don't know how bad it really is... again, just what i've seen on the net.

On another note... what is the fingerless glove thing I read about?
Starforce is a real bitch, caused tons of problems, and it's probably one of the worse types of protection you can find on a game.
__________________
Xan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008   #63
Antonio Montana
Registered User
 
Antonio Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 716
Antonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura aboutAntonio Montana has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Shy Child. View Post
I hope this doesn't turn into another crysis or assassins creed cause that would suck.
I think you can't compare the two forementioned games.. crysis is such a pain in the ass, may I say.. it's a game with a mediocre storyline and a good concept which is focused on destroying your HIGH-END computer into pieces.. on the other side, we have assassin's creed that works like a charm on most system's even though maxed-out, which means it's more user-friendly than crysis which you have to lower your settings so it doesn't lag or even give you a BSOD..

now, if we look how GTA games were ported in the past, we can conclude it's not going to be such a demanding game.. I believe R* will optimize it as much as it goes and a mid configuration will be able to run it on some medium to high details with low AA.. that's all I hope for..

also, I'd like to mention that GTA and crysis shouldn't be put in the same cup.. GTA is more like a game that has a focus on the gameplay and judging by the PS3 and X360 version, it looks like it's more demanding like Just Life (didn't have any other game on my mind that's similar to GTA) than to crysis which is more like a Far Cry of the modern era and you remember GTA: SA came somewhat at the same time as Far Cry..

Last edited by Antonio Montana; 08-09-2008 at 04:24 AM..
Antonio Montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008   #64
norby89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
norby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished road
I don't understand why people think they have to update their rigs to play this game, we haven't even seen the minimum system requirements yet

it's not a badly optimised system hog like crysis! (at least I hope) judging from past experience, GTAIV should run on an average PC just fine
norby89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008   #65
Nite
Addicted PC Gamer
 
Nite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sumner, WA, USA
Posts: 4,895
Nite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant futureNite has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xan View Post
Starforce is a real bitch, caused tons of problems, and it's probably one of the worse types of protection you can find on a game.
oh god I hated starforce so much, the earlier Trackmania games had it, but thankfully they removed it on Trackmania Nations Forever and Trackmania United Forever

that copy protection installed ring 0 drivers that fucked with my DVD burner drive, I kept getting coasters on burns, I removed starforce and the problem was solved.

thankfully thier isn't many games I want that use that POS copy protection

Last edited by Nite; 08-09-2008 at 05:31 AM..
Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008   #66
claud3
Banned
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,325
claud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of light
This is what i found

PC Version Specifications

Grand Theft Auto IV's PC Specifications will be posted here as soon as we receive word on them. The game is built for next-gen consoles however, so we can expect you will need a fairly high-spec gaming PC to play it.

Predicted Minimum Specifications (NOT OFFICIAL)

These specifications are from the PC version of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. We believe Grand Theft Auto IV will have similar, if not slightly higher minimum system requirements.

CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 2.4 GHz or AMD(R) Athlon(TM) 64 2800+ processor or any 1.8Ghz Dual Core Processor or better supported

RAM: 512MB RAM (768MB for Windows Vista)

Harddrive: 8GB of free hard drive space

Video card (generic): NVIDIA(R) Geforce(TM) 6600 or better or ATI(R) Radeon(R) 9800Pro or better

Predicted Recommended Specifications (NOT OFFICIAL)

These specifications are from the PC version of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. We believe Grand Theft Auto IV will have similar, if not slightly higher recommended system requirements.

CPU: 2.4 GHz dual core or better is recommended

RAM: 1GB for XP; 2GB for Vista is recommended

Harddrive: 8GB of free hard drive space

Video card: 3.0 Shader Support recommended. Nvidia Geforce 7800 or better or ATI Radeon X1800 or better

Remember these specs are merely speculation, not official system requirements. Stay tuned for further updates.

Last edited by claud3; 08-12-2008 at 04:20 PM..
claud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008   #67
Blaze0785
Registered User
 
Blaze0785's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,238
Blaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to allBlaze0785 is a name known to all
Thumbs up

Nice find claud3
Blaze0785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008   #68
claud3
Banned
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,325
claud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of light
Thankz man. I think it is a good idear to know what the spec's might be
claud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #69
Vortigern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 491
Vortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura aboutVortigern has a spectacular aura about
Could you give us a source for that, Claud3?
Vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #70
Xan
█▄▄█▄▄█ █▬█ █
 
Xan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 4,587
Xan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond reputeXan has a reputation beyond repute
Oh cool, i didn't know that GTAIV uses the Call of Duty 4 engine!??!'!

Cyrix made a good point about this, don't compare specs between games. It's a whole different ballpark.
__________________
Xan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #71
ZCAB
Whipping Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,027
ZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze0785 View Post
Nice find claud3
blaze0785: by the outrageous amount of "nice find" and "good job" posts you've made around the forums, I have come to believe that you make such posts thoughtlessly and only so you have a high post count (for which you probably even think you will be respected).
Like I said on the very first day you started posting here, you show very little dedication to joining a (meaningful) discussion in a(n) (equally) meaningful way, which as a moderator is not something I like to see. I ask you once again to think before you post, actually read all the posts in the thread before you post (I'm certainly not convinced you do that every time), and stop thinking a high post count will somehow earn you more respect as a member. It doesn't.
Also, you might want to try using punctuation marks in your posts. By not using proper punctuation and grammar you're basically making it harder for people to read what you have to say just to save yourself some time writing the message. This is not a forum rule, but a common courtesy you might want to pick up.
ZCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #72
claud3
Banned
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,325
claud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of light
Thumbs up

here you go dude http://www.gta4.tv/page/38/pc-version-specifications/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortigern View Post
Could you give us a source for that, Claud3?
claud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #73
ZCAB
Whipping Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,027
ZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond reputeZCAB has a reputation beyond repute
There is absolutely no reason to believe IV will have similar system requirements to Call of Duty 4. Games vary in requirements for many reasons, even if they were also playable on the same console.
ZCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #74
norby89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
norby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished roadnorby89 is on a distinguished road
I'm pretty sure the official requirements won't differ too much
norby89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #75
claud3
Banned
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,325
claud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of lightclaud3 is a glorious beacon of light
that is true. But i would need to upgrade my p.c to run the game
claud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 PM.