Old 04-27-2008   #1
kama
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
kama is on a distinguished roadkama is on a distinguished road
ps3 internet

hey guys i just went out and bought a ps3 only for gta4 but my question is if i want to play online do i only need to take my internet out of my computer and plug it into the ps3??
kama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #2
TheJordanJames
MUFC
Amateur Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester,England
Posts: 167
TheJordanJames is on a distinguished roadTheJordanJames is on a distinguished road
PS3's have built in wireless internet, so if your house has wireless internet it will pick it up, but you need to sort the settings out on your PS3.
TheJordanJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #3
kama
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
kama is on a distinguished roadkama is on a distinguished road
well i dont have wireless internet but i have cable internet so if i plug in my eithernet cable in the back of the ps3 will this get me online???? i need to know cause i cant wait for multiplayer gta4 please let me know thanks guys.
kama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #4
AdmiralSpags
Registered User
 
AdmiralSpags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33
AdmiralSpags is on a distinguished roadAdmiralSpags is on a distinguished roadAdmiralSpags is on a distinguished road
Yaeh, just go ahead and plug ethernet into the back of the PS3 and you should be good. I don't know if there is some sort of acquire process that it has to go through because I've never owned a PS3 but that should be it.
AdmiralSpags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #5
TheJordanJames
MUFC
Amateur Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester,England
Posts: 167
TheJordanJames is on a distinguished roadTheJordanJames is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kama View Post
well i dont have wireless internet but i have cable internet so if i plug in my eithernet cable in the back of the ps3 will this get me online???? i need to know cause i cant wait for multiplayer gta4 please let me know thanks guys.
Yep that will do it.
TheJordanJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #6
Bfett21
Registered User
 
Bfett21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,262
Bfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enoughBfett21 will become famous soon enough
Do you have a router? if so plug into the router so everyone can still connect.
Bfett21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #7
treab
Registered User
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
treab is an unknown quantity at this point
yep the ps3 will work on an ethernet cable.. but i would get a wireless router as you can keep the computer plugged in but use the wireless connection to log on your ps3...

hope to see you online before i go home i hate dial up
treab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #8
kama
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
kama is on a distinguished roadkama is on a distinguished road
hey guys just wanted to say thanks for the speedie replys and i thank you all alot and yeah i do have a router so im just gonna plug a line into that and run it over to the tv area sweet thanks guys
kama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #9
rean2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BRooKLYN, NY
Posts: 354
rean2 is on a distinguished roadrean2 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kama View Post
hey guys just wanted to say thanks for the speedie replys and i thank you all alot and yeah i do have a router so im just gonna plug a line into that and run it over to the tv area sweet thanks guys
the ps3 should have its own ethernet cable inside its box so u don't have to use ur computer's ethernet (in the 80gb bundle)
U also need to sign up for PSN to play online, (don't worry its free) but u still need to have parent info and address and credit card (just incase u wanna buy something off of the playstation store)

Last edited by rean2; 04-27-2008 at 02:57 PM..
rean2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #10
Neil
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,609
Neil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud ofNeil has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by rean2 View Post
the ps3 should have its own ethernet cable inside its box so u don't have to use ur computer's ethernet
U also need to sign up for PSN to play online, (don't worry its free) but u still need to have parent info and address and credit card (just incase u wanna buy something off of the playstation store)
My PS3 didn't come with an ethernet cable. I got the GT5P 40GB bundle.
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #11
rean2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BRooKLYN, NY
Posts: 354
rean2 is on a distinguished roadrean2 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil View Post
My PS3 didn't come with an ethernet cable. I got the GT5P 40GB bundle.
o, its b/c i bought the 80gb bundle with motorstorm
rean2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #12
unFunGames
Registered User
Newbie Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 47
unFunGames can only hope to improve
you bought a ps3 to play one game that's also available on a cheaper system?
unFunGames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #13
BLizZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
BLizZ is an unknown quantity at this point
i actually prefer to use the ethernet cable instead of using the built-in wireless just to prevent interference and possible lag
BLizZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #14
dillinja
Registered User
 
dillinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NE uk
Posts: 210
dillinja is on a distinguished roaddillinja is on a distinguished roaddillinja is on a distinguished road
even if you dont have a router if you have two ethernet ports on your pc you can set up a bridge so u can go online with both, thats what i do with my xbox.
dillinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008   #15
treab
Registered User
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
treab is an unknown quantity at this point
i never had to put any credit card info into mine...
treab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 PM.