GTAGaming Forums

GTAGaming Forums (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/index.php)
-   Grand Theft Auto IV Mods (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=318)
-   -   Game Modding questions. (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/showthread.php?t=141592)

smokeyh37 06-06-2013 07:49 PM

Game Modding questions.

So like all of the other dead posts, yes I am a noob to modding but I am slowly figuring things out. I have gotten as far as modding a couple cars, then I decided to install ICEnhancer 2.1, but after I did that I could no longer use GTA IV vehicle mod installer because it could not locate the needed game file. I tried to replace the files it was missing with files from my backup but it made no difference. Other than that it worked fine. I decided that I wanted to be able to install more cars so I restored my game from my back up and started over. I attempted to do a player mod using OpenIV I copied the files as stated in the 'read me' then proceeded to follow the instructions to rebuild, only rebuild button wasn't an available option. Im not too sure if I did something wrong there. I am using a steam copy of GTA IV and I know mods have been revised since the 1.0.7.0 update. I guess my question would be, do alot of the older mods still work since that update? if no then what are the best ones to look for? I dont really expect too much of a reply, just by the looks of similar posts, but one would be nice and help save me a bit of time and research.

P.S. I'm not too lazy to do my own research, just looking for some guidance. Thanks for reading!

Killerfist 06-07-2013 09:16 AM

The rebuild option is only on SparkIV and is an useless option, in OpenIV simply replacing it (after entering edit mode) does the trick.

1.0.7.0. is fine for mods, you can install every gun/car/player mod, some icenhancers will look different because they're optimized for patch 1.0.4.0. Personally I'd go with an older icenhancer (like 1.25).