GTAGaming Forums

GTAGaming Forums (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting & Technology (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=303)
-   -   GTA IV keeps crashing (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/showthread.php?t=116628)

RobinWijland 06-23-2009 02:20 AM

GTA IV keeps crashing
 
Hi,

Two weeks ago i've treated myself on a new PC. The "old" one was two years old. It was getting a bit slow for some games. I played GTA 4 on it, but it always runs stuck and all.

So i've installed my brand new fast PC, and installed GTA 4. Ran all the updates. It runs very smoothly and the details are high, no problems.. well there are, sometimes the screen is blackish, and i have to adjust the settings to look normal. Not a very big deal.

The big deal is that after 10 minutes, or sometimes half an hour or an hour the game just freezes.
First I see the textures "falling behind" and after a few seconds the game freezes.(The video card temperature is not high) Sometimes I can close the program with Task manager, sometimes it's so worse that I have to turn my PC off. What the hell? I've got a good PC and still i have problems, I can't even play normal? Can anyone help? Here are my specs:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Core Q8300 (S775, 4x2.5GHz, 4MB, 1333MHz FSB)
Motherboard: Asus P5KPL-CM
Memory: Kingston 4 GB, DDR2, 800 mhz
Video Card: Ati HD4850, 1024 MB, DDR3

RobinWijland 06-26-2009 07:33 AM

No replies...

Hmm well. My old tower is equipped with 4 cooling fans / systems.
My new tower is just standard.
So what i'm going to do is tear down my hardware from my new PC, and build it over in my old tower.
Then i'll format the PC and install Windows Vista 64 bit edition. Instead of Win XP 32 bit which i'm using now.

Let's hope this will help otherwise I'm out of options.

Goddamnit, all this trouble just for GTA IV.

Buddah_Lova 06-27-2009 01:58 PM

just buy a 360 or a ps3 :)

Xan 06-27-2009 02:07 PM

Yeah. That's not exactly a fix to a problem, it's just negating it.

I wouldn't know how to help exactly, other than recommend going over all the drivers (Mobo, Audio, Radeon GPU).

Other resource intensive games work fine on your rig?

thenotsogoodtrickster 06-27-2009 05:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xan (Post 2012270)
Yeah. That's not exactly a fix to a problem, it's just negating it.

I wouldn't know how to help exactly, other than recommend going over all the drivers (Mobo, Audio, Radeon GPU).

Other resource intensive games work fine on your rig?

I'm gonna back this one up. Spec-wise you shouldn't have a problem. Spec-wise you should be indestuctable 0.0

Ash_735 06-27-2009 08:33 PM

So the game is updated, your specs are enough to run the game decently, etc, it sounds like the Memory Leak problem some PC Gamers get, it should be, well, better in the latest patched versions though but until it's fully fixed I can only suggest turning off Shadows as this graphic option eats up Ram like a bitch, turning the Shadows off should at least prolong your gameplay time.

zeeshan810 06-29-2009 10:36 AM

Please contact Rockstar Support. They can help you. :)
Rockstar Support

RobinWijland 06-30-2009 12:13 PM

Hi to all above,

I've already sent a mail to RS Support. Thanks.

I havent tried many other games yet, cause i've just got the new computer.
Well my sister played The Sims 3 with no problems at all.

Like I said, perhaps the problems are coming from using Win XP 32 bit version. I'm going to format my PC and install Vista 64 bit edition in a few days.
Then we'll see what happens. I'll post an update when i'm ready.

Has anyone experienced when inserting the DVD that the autorun screen has strange symbols instead of text like "Exit, and Run game"???? I have. It's weird.

zeeshan810 06-30-2009 12:36 PM

If you contacted them today, then you will have to wait a little longer. They will contact you within 72 hours. Also if your Win XP 64 bit doesn't work contact Rockstar Support by phone.

For US Support

Phone: 1-866-405-5464

For Canadian Support
Phone: 1-800-269-5721

For UK Support
Phone: 08701 200060

RobinWijland 07-01-2009 10:48 AM

There is no Netherlands support?

If there isn't I could do with the UK.
I'll just phone them from work, no costs for me thaddaboy haha.

zeeshan810 07-01-2009 11:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobinWijland (Post 2014599)
There is no Netherlands support?

If there isn't I could do with the UK.
I'll just phone them from work, no costs for me thaddaboy haha.

yeah..you will have to call UK Support. Good Luck hope your GTA IV works fine. But Rockstar Games Support can help you with anything. :)

.:Mouldy Punk:. 07-19-2009 11:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobinWijland (Post 2009940)
Hi,

Two weeks ago i've treated myself on a new PC. The "old" one was two years old. It was getting a bit slow for some games. I played GTA 4 on it, but it always runs stuck and all.

So i've installed my brand new fast PC, and installed GTA 4. Ran all the updates. It runs very smoothly and the details are high, no problems.. well there are, sometimes the screen is blackish, and i have to adjust the settings to look normal. Not a very big deal.

The big deal is that after 10 minutes, or sometimes half an hour or an hour the game just freezes.
First I see the textures "falling behind" and after a few seconds the game freezes.(The video card temperature is not high) Sometimes I can close the program with Task manager, sometimes it's so worse that I have to turn my PC off. What the hell? I've got a good PC and still i have problems, I can't even play normal? Can anyone help? Here are my specs:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Core Q8300 (S775, 4x2.5GHz, 4MB, 1333MHz FSB)
Motherboard: Asus P5KPL-CM
Memory: Kingston 4 GB, DDR2, 800 mhz
Video Card: Ati HD4850, 1024 MB, DDR3

In an attempt to actually try and get the damn game working properly on my computer, I found this thread. I am having EXACTLY the same problem. Every detail you mentioned is exactly what happens with my game.

My PC's specs;
Processor: AMD 4800+ x2
Memory: 2GB DDR2
Video card: 1GB ATI 4670
Mobo: MSI k9vgm
OS: Win XP SP3 32bit

Considering we're having the same problem and the only hardware we have that's even made by the same company is the graphics card, I suspect the problem lies with the graphics drivers. I'm using the Steam version, and judging from your posts, you have the DVD version?

Did you have any luck with R* support?

RobinWijland 08-04-2009 01:41 PM

Hey man.

Sorry for not getting back earlier, just spent 3 weeks holiday abroad.

I've emailed rockstar like y'all said. No response. Yes I have the DVD version.

In the meantime my neighbour reinstalled my PC with Windows Vista 64 bits edition.
DirectX 10 and newest video card drivers.

I've installed the game.. run it... and now it's even worse than before, the game crashes with the intro movie, starting a game takes even longer than my previous computer. I just get kicked back to windows.

So only two options remain.. Windows Vista 32 bit edition and/ or calling Rockstar Support.
And thinking that i've already finished the single player on my old PC before... but that took a lot of sweat and anger because it always crashed...

RobinWijland 09-14-2009 01:22 PM

Well...

The problem still exists.
Now the only thing that happens after playing 5 minutes, or 30 minutes, time really unreliable.
The frame building stops, the world "stops" to build. Textrures are falling behind, that the game freezes, crashes, or continues for some seconds and remains frozen, something like that.

The next things have been exchanged under warranty because the company which i've bought my PC from thought some things weren't right.
- New (improved) mother board installed.
- New, faster and cooled 4GB Ram installed
- We've tried another video card, a NVidea 8800 still no effect.

Excuse on the video card, it's not 1024 MB but a ASUS ATI 4850 DD3 with 512 MB.

The game keeps crashing. What the fucking fuck!

Can anyone help me for christ sakes, since Rockstar doesn't email me back.

turror 09-21-2009 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobinWijland (Post 2050182)
Well...

The problem still exists.
Now the only thing that happens after playing 5 minutes, or 30 minutes, time really unreliable.
The frame building stops, the world "stops" to build. Textrures are falling behind, that the game freezes, crashes, or continues for some seconds and remains frozen, something like that.

The next things have been exchanged under warranty because the company which i've bought my PC from thought some things weren't right.
- New (improved) mother board installed.
- New, faster and cooled 4GB Ram installed
- We've tried another video card, a NVidea 8800 still no effect.

Excuse on the video card, it's not 1024 MB but a ASUS ATI 4850 DD3 with 512 MB.

The game keeps crashing. What the fucking fuck!

Can anyone help me for christ sakes, since Rockstar doesn't email me back.

have you patched the game to the latest version?(1.0.40)
do you have antivirus program?
if you do, I think you should turn off your antivirus program
my specs are lower than you, but I played the game without problem:D:D


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.