GTAGaming Forums

GTAGaming Forums (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/index.php)
-   Grand Theft Auto IV (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=273)
-   -   I'm still getting horrible framerates (PS3) (http://www.gtagaming.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107509)

Shadow Conception 08-08-2008 01:12 PM

I'm still getting horrible framerates (PS3)
 
Is this specific to my PS3, to all PS3s, or to all versions of GTA4?

It stutters 80% of the game. I'm in my Alderney safehouse, it's smooth. I step out, and it's stutter-city. If I had a guess, I'd say the game barely ever goes above 30FPS. Hell, it almost never hits 30FPS for me.

I've seen videos online, and they seem much, much smoother than what I'm playing. Then again, they all appear to be the 360 version. Any other PS3 owners here that are getting bad framerates?

claud3 08-08-2008 01:16 PM

I get it now and then when the copz are after me. Even if it is just two wanted stars

Strike. 08-08-2008 01:44 PM

Sounds like a problem with your PS3 or copy of the game. I hardly ever get any slow framerate issues on the PS3 version.

The Shy Child. 08-08-2008 01:57 PM

I have nver had any problems with framerate except for some matches with only rocket launchers but that is expected from all the carnage going on.

Holster 08-08-2008 02:05 PM

Nah, I've never had loads of problems with it. Only rarely the frame rate goes a bit dodgy, it doesn't hardly happen anymore. Can any patches fix this? Or if you reckon it's your PS3, does it happen with other games or just GTA IV?

claud3 08-08-2008 02:09 PM

It happens with all games gta or not. But we can not do anything about it unless the game maker release patches to fix it

Shadow Conception 08-08-2008 02:17 PM

None of my other games have unusual framerate problems (MGS4, COD4, etc). I was thinking maybe my standards are just too high. But, the videos I've seen are definitely a lot smoother than what I'm playing.

Could it be the game itself? Maybe I got a screwed up disc or something.

Thundercracker 08-08-2008 02:25 PM

Could be that the GTA IV cache is fragmented.

Shadow Conception 08-09-2008 10:13 PM

^true, since I formatted once before + reinstalled and got better framerates (placebo?). But if it has to be done over and over like this, that's just pathetic.

victim 08-09-2008 10:56 PM

My game runs smoothly, it stutters occasionally when a lot is happening, this is rare though. It's most likely your copy of the game.

phreak 08-09-2008 11:16 PM

I don't have any problems with mine. Just an occasional hiccup when the shit's going down but that's classic GTA right there so I'm pretty much used it. But it's not like it's un-playable or anything.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.